Friday, March 04, 2005

2005 SEC Women's Basketball Awards Released

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. -- The Southeastern Conference announced its 2005 women's basketball postseason awards Wednesday, highlighted by LSU's Seimone Augustus being named Player of the Year and Georgia's Tasha Humphrey being named Freshman of the Year. First-team and second-team All-SEC honorees, All-Freshman team, along with Player, Coach and Freshman, Defensive Player, 6th Woman and Scholar-Athlete of the Year were chosen by the league's 12 coaches.

Augustus, along with Tasha Humphrey, Tan White and Ashley Earley were unanimous first-team members. While Humphrey, Sylvia Fowles, Alexis Hornbuckle and Nikki Anosike were unanimous all-freshman members.

Ole Miss' Armintie Price was named Defensive Player of the Year, while LSU freshman Sylvia Fowles was named 6th Woman of the Year.

Arkansas' Sarah Pfeifer was named the SEC Women's Basketball Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

LSU's Pokey Chatman, in her first year as head coach was named SEC Coach of the Year. This season the Lady Tigers finished the regular season with a 27-1 overall record and a perfect 14-0 conference record. The only loss came at Rutgers in early January.

The 2005 SEC Women's Basketball Tournament begins Thursday, March3 and runs through Sunday, March 6 in Greenville, S.C.. SEC's regional sports network (FSN South, FSN Southwest and Sunshine Network) will televise all games on Thursday, Friday and Saturday while ESPN2 will broadcast the championship game at 7 p.m. ET.

The complete 2005 SEC Women's Basketball Postseason Awards follow.

First Team All-SEC
Natasha Brackett, Auburn
*Tasha Humphrey, Georgia
*Seimone Augustus, LSU
Temeka Johnson, LSU
Armintie Price, Ole Miss
*Tan White, Mississippi State
Shyra Ely, Tennessee
*Ashley Earley, Vanderbilt

Second Team All-SEC
Monique Bivins, Alabama
Bernice Mosby, Florida
Sara Potts, Kentucky
Sylvia Fowles, LSU
Amber Watts, Ole Miss
Shanna Zolman, Tennessee
Carla Thomas, Vanderbilt
Dee Davis, Vanderbilt

All-Freshman Team
Alexis Ogubie, Auburn
Megan Darrah, Georgia
*Tasha Humphrey, Georgia
Sarah Elliott, Kentucky
Samantha Mahoney, Kentucky
Quianna Chaney, LSU
*Sylvia Fowles, LSU
*Alexis Hornbuckle, Tennessee
*Nikki Anosike, Tennessee

Coach of the Year: Pokey Chatman, LSU

Player of the Year: Seimone Augustus, LSU

Freshman of the Year: Tasha Humphrey, Georgia

Defensive Player of the Year: Armintie Price, Ole Miss

6th Woman of the Year: Sylvia Fowles, LSU

Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Sarah Pfeifer, Arkansas

No comments: